Revisions and bloglegging


I completed my second draft of The Doppelganger’s Pawn. I cut out most of the things that I felt unnecessary and I tried to connect some of the more obscure dots. I’m pretty happy with the backbone of the story, but I am going to have a few more looks at it before I call it complete. The word count dropped considerably with the second draft. Perhaps I can get it where I want it soon. When that day comes, I will send it out into the land of rejection notices, where the elusive acceptance letter is a creature hiding in the shadows.

I googled my story’s title “Doppelganger’s Pawn” today while I was bored. The mysterious google machine pointed me towards a splog site. When I clicked on the link, I was greeted by one of my recent blog posts, but rewritten, changing words and phrasing. I’m not quite sure what that is all about, as I am new to blogging, but I feel a little ripped off. I’ve been bootlegged, it seems.

Anyway, I am trying to push through a couple of “flash” fiction stories a week, just to stay creatively sharp. I’m focusing on putting words on paper without stopping for revision until the story is complete. What I usually end up with is a story that has gaps, cracks, scars, and a lot of room for revision and rewrites. I find that the more I write, the easier it is for ideas to flow from my brain to my keyboard. What type of things do you do to get the creative train chugging down the tracks?

Leave a Reply

